For this entry of “The 12 posts of Christmas,” Brittany from Briale Morand and I decided to put our baking skills to the test! We each chose a recipe that caught our attention from pinterest and went to the kitchen to recreate them. I may not have had “visions of sugarplums” dancing in my head, but I did have visions of cupcakes! I decided to go with a sweet potato cupcake with toasted marshmallow frosting. Doesn’t that sound amazing? Candied yams or sweet potato casserole… whatever you want to call it… was, and always will be my favorite side- dish at the table during the holidays. This cupcake takes all of your favorite elements of the dish, and condenses it into a tiny dessert that is just as delectable.

Sweet potato cupcakes with marshmallow frosting

cupcake4

I found this recipe from the blog Sprinkled with jules. My batch may not have come out as perfect as hers did, but I did make a valiant effort!

Ingredients:

ingredients.jpg(for full recipe, click HERE)

Process:

The recipe was easy to follow, however I did still manage to make a rookie mistake! I took the cupcakes out of the oven too early.

cupcake5.jpg

I put them in for the estimated time in the recipe, but I was too anxious to have them finished that I didn’t even check the centers of the cupcakes to check if they were fully- cooked. I turned the oven off and let the cupcakes cool while I started on the frosting. By the time my frosting was ready, I realized the cupcakes were just not looking right, so I checked the centers with a toothpick… NOOOOOOO!!!!   The toothpick didn’t come out clean, so you know what that means? Back in the oven! I had to wait for the oven to preheat again before I could put them back in, wait for another 10 minutes for them to finally be cooked all the way.

cupcake3

I set them on the side to cool… again, and then they were ready to frost. After they were nicely frosted, they just went back into the oven (set to broil) for about 40 seconds. And VOILA! My little cupcake vision come to life! It may have taken a little longer than it should’ve, but it was sooo worth it!

cupcake2.jpg

This cupcake is right up my alley. The cake is dense from the starchiness of the potato, and all the spices complement it without making it too sweet. The marshmallow frosting is nice and light, to offset the density of the cake. It is just a perfect balance!

Brownies

brownie2

My boyfriend decided he wanted to jump in on the baking wagon, and baked some milk chocolate brownies with some Reeses peanut butter morsels. He wanted to bake something that was quick and easy, so he just used a boxed brownie mix and stirred the Reeses bits inside. During the last 5 minutes of baking, he sprinkled more of the Reeses morsels on top. And that’s it!

brownie.jpg

Very simple, but still delicious.

finishedTreats

What was meant to be just a post, turned out to be such a fun experience. I spent the whole day with my boyfriend and my mom (being that I baked at her house…she has a bigger kitchen and a nice mixer). We spent some quality time together and enjoyed some delicious treats. Of all the posts so far, this one is probably my favorite because I wasn’t just creating content, I was also creating memories. Yah, yah…sappy sap, I know.

To see the goodies Brittany created, visit her blog (here). I haven’t tried them out yet, being that I’m so full of cupcakes and brownies.

shaka.jpg

Thank you all for reading my entries to “The 12 posts of Christmas,” this is turning out to be a fun and challenging experience! Stay tuned for more! 🙂

5 thoughts

  1. This was such a joy to read! It made me all sorts of happy! You made a good point about not only creating content, but creating memories — that’s what matters most, I think.
    FOR THOSE WHO WANT TO KNOW:
    Her cupcakes were just as delicious as she claims! My boyfriend ate his and half of mine! The nerve! LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

